Otaku Daydreams

Your stop for anime reviews and more!


2 Comments

First Impressions: Nisekoi

Nisekoi was one of the Winter anime I was anticipating for and episode 1 aired last Saturday. I read and commented on a review posted by The Glorio Blog so I’m putting my review for Nisekoi as my task for Zero to Hero Day 12: From Comment to Blog Post – Be Inspired By the Community.

Today’s assignment: write a post that builds on one of the comments you left yesterday. Don’t forget to link to the other blog!

Episode 1: The Promise

nisekoi 1-1

Animation-wise, Shaft did a great job with the animation effects and colour contrasts. I like the animation effects at the beginning of the anime when the promise between the main character, Ichijo Raku, and the girl is made. It is funny when Raku announces “Breakfast is ready, you bums!” and gets glared at by a huge group of gangsters before they greeted him with a “Good morning, young master!” It’s interesting how Raku is the sole heir of a Yakuza family but only wants to study hard and enter a good college so that he can get a respectable job in the future.

The middle of the episode was quite bland in my opinion. Transfer students and the main male and female characters hating each other at first is very common and nothing new. I read some comments about how Nisekoi is a great comedy, but it isn’t as humourous as I hoped it would be. Perhaps it’s because I’ve recently been watching Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun, which I find is a hilarious and much better romantic comedy.

nisekoi 1-2

I was wondering about the reason why Raku and Chitoge had to pretend to be lovers so I was glad I got my answer in the end of the episode. Raku sure is in a weird situation. He has to pretend to be Chitoge’s boyfriend when he likes Onodera.  In addition, Onodera being the girl who made the promise with Raku is a surprise to me. To be honest, I thought it would be Chitoge. Then again, knowing that Onodera was also on the cover of Volume 1 of the Nisekoi manga, she must be an important character instead of merely being someone Raku likes. Even though they were pretty much forced to, what will Onodera do when she hears that Raku and Chitoge are a couple?

On the whole, I’m quite interested in what will happen so I’ll still continue watching Nisekoi. I probably won’t have the time to blog about each episode but I’ll try to write an overall review for the series when it’s completed.

Watch Nisekoi episode 1 at http://www.animeultima.tv/Nisekoi-episode-1/