Otaku Daydreams

Your stop for anime reviews and more!

Inspiring Quotes: Shingeki no Kyojin

4 Comments

I’ve been asking myself this recently – why did I choose to take Literature as one of my subjects? It’s like a completely different version from what I studied before. It’s forcing me to think deeper, to try to grasp what the author is trying to imply. Unfortunately, things aren’t going very well. While attempting to think deeper, I feel that I am drowning in a sea of question marks. I constantly feel intimidated by the works of others. I often wonder how they manage to magically craft essays with such beautiful phrases. Why am I so inferior?

Another thought that floated in my mind is why anime could not be part of my curriculum. Why couldn’t Literature test us about anime instead of such puzzling and infuriating poems and extracts? Why can’t the question be on “Write a critical commentary on the following anime extract”? I would look forward to every assignment.

However, what has been done cannot be undone. In this beautiful cruel world, we encounter many obstacles that trap us in a net of regrets. Yet, in this beautiful cruel world, we can change things for the better. Who says that anime can’t be weaved into our daily lives? We don’t watch anime purely for entertainment. Contrary to what most people think, anime does embed certain positive values on us. Shingeki no Kyojin proves to be an inspiring supplier of motivation for me.

snk wallpaper

“On that day, mankind received a grim reminder. We lived in fear of the titans, and were disgraced to live in these cages we called walls.”
– Eren Jaeger

I’ve always felt that Shingeki no Kyojin was a reflection on modern society. It might be set in a different time, but the idea is the same. No world is completely peaceful. After living safely within the walls for years, the Titans have come to invade their territory and to exterminate the entire human population. The Titans in the real world are the obstacles we face in life.

“If you win, you live. If you lose, you die. If you don’t fight, you can’t win!”
– Eren Jaeger 

Running away won’t solve any problems. It’s only by fighting the Titans in our heart that we can get rid of our worries. I tell myself that my homework and exams are Titans. Each of them are classified into different types of Titans, depending on their difficulty. For normal homework, I label them as three-metre tall Titans, the smallest ones. For for difficult ones, I call them ten-metre tall Titans, etc. My school exams are represented by the Armoured Titan while national exams are represented as the Colossal Titan. Whenever I complete a task, I motivate myself by saying what Titan I’ve defeated.

“People who can’t throw something important away, can never hope to change anything.”
– Armin Arlet 

One of my flaws is my procrastination. Sometimes, even when I’m supposed to be doing revision, my mind would drift off to anime. The quote mentioned above caught my attention. If I don’t throw something important away, like the time spent watching anime (when I shouldn’t), I would never be able to change my grades. In this pragmatic society, where good grades are the key to success, I would ruin my future if I don’t change my ways.

Most importantly, the first opening, Guren no Yumiya, is extremely inspiring. If you search for the English lyrics, there’s a stanza that goes like this:

Draw the bow and chase it, don’t let the enemy escape
Fire the arrow and corner it, never let the enemy escape
The bowstring pulled until it is about to snap
Endless volleys continued, until the target drops dead

We are the hunters, everyone, so pick up your crimson bow and arrow and let’s defeat all the Titans together.

Author: Gwenice Gwee

www.thechaserofdreams.wordpress.com Chaser of dreams, epitome of oxymorons

4 thoughts on “Inspiring Quotes: Shingeki no Kyojin

  1. Its amazing how we all can form different views from the same work of art, and my favorite part is reading other people’s perspective on them. In my mind the Titans are more all of society’s obstacle, such as controlling green house gas emissions or world hunger. Thus the reason that not only one person confronts them but the whole group must work together to do so. Literary analysis of anime is always refreshing and really needed in pushing away the negative association many have with it.

  2. As someone who majored in English literature, the uncertainty and sense of inferiority is a familiar sentiment. The more one reads, the more one realizes how much beautiful writing is out there. It’s so easy to drown in the verbosity and elegance of language but that’s partly why I enjoy studying it. What makes “great books” truly “great” is how expansive their words are. You can read the same text over and over and each reading gleans something new, something profound, something truly emotionally moving. Literature is a difficult but very rewarding field of study and I hope you stick with it!
    Attack on Titan’s got some great lines but as you might find, great lines one finds in anime can also be found in literature as well! And while your English professor or teacher might not be thrilled with replacing Macbeth with Attack of Titan, that doesn’t mean you can’t draw thematic connections between these two seemingly different works.
    You’ll find that with literature and storytelling-the sky’s the limit.🙂

Leave a Reply

