Otaku Daydreams

Your stop for anime reviews and more!

First Impressions: Kamigami no Asobi

2 Comments

kamigami no asobi

I only knew about Kamigami no Asobi this week, which is why I’m only reviewing it now when a few episodes have already been aired. I first heard about it from my friend who recommended it to me since she knew I was interested in Greek mythology.

One thing I usually do before watching an anime is to read its synopsis on Wikipedia. This isn’t always a good move as there could be spoilers around. In this case, the first website that appeared in my Google Search was My Anime List, so I read the synopsis that was given there. There was a list of characters and their voice actors stated there as well. I saw the names of two familiar voice actors, Daisuke Ono (Hades) and Hiyoshi Kamiya (Baldr). This made me really interested in the anime. On the downside, I was slightly disappointed that I found out before watching the anime. Usually, I like to listen and see if I could spot any familiar voices. (Sigh. This girl cannot be easily satisfied.) Anyway, I felt that it was really cool when I heard Hades and Baldr speak. I was thinking, “Hey, it’s Sebastian!” and “It’s Yato!!!”

kamigami no asobi yui

What impressed me about this anime is the main character, Kusanagi Yui. Other than Haruhi from Ouran Highschool Host Club, I have never really liked any female main characters from reverse harems. Kusanagi Yui has a proper personality, which I find very important. I have always felt that reverse harem girls lacked personality. She’s no pushover. She doesn’t obey everything that she is told. She has the courage to refuse Zeus’s request. It’s also nice how there are scenes to show Yui’s cute side. Besides, she has a proper background, with her family and friends shown. This is usually not included, especially in otome reverse harems.

kamigami no asobi sword

Another thing I like is the sword. I love swords. I think that they’re the coolest weapons. When the sword shrank and turned into a pendant, I thought of a story I wrote. At that time, I was super enthusiastic about Fairy Tail, so the main character was a mage. Most importantly, her main weapon was a sword that was usually worn as a pendant, but could transform into an actual sword if she needs it. To think that my idea is already being used in an anime!

So, will I continue watching Kamigami no Asobi? Well, maybe not. I watched it only because of my curiosity, but now that I have, I doubt I want to watch more. The only thing that I really like about this anime is the main character. Yet, this is a reverse harem. Most people watch reverse harems for the guys. It’s the reason why only girls would want to watch them. For Kamigami no Asobi, I’m not very interested in any of the guys. They are… pretty weird to me. Not forgetting the flowery background every time a new god is introduced. I cringed every time that happened. You can actually use the second picture as a reference to how I felt, except with the words changed to “What… did I just watch?” (Okay, that was an exaggeration.) It’s so ridiculous, it’s hilarious. I laugh every time I think of those scenes. Maybe there’s something wrong with my sense of humour, but that’s how I am.

By the way, hearing Baldr speak makes me miss Noragami because despite all the gods portrayed in Kamigami no Asobi, Yato’s the only anime god that I like. Furthermore, at the start of the anime, I thought that Apollo was really cool… until the transformation. It was extremely unexpected, to say the least. Then again, I should have known. After all, Kamigami no Asobi is an otome reverse harem.

Watch Kamigami no Asobi episode 1 at http://www.animeultima.tv/Kamigami-no-Asobi-episode-1-english-subbed/

Author: Gwenice Gwee

www.thechaserofdreams.wordpress.com Chaser of dreams, epitome of oxymorons

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Kamigami no Asobi

  1. Seems like I should also get onboard with this one. I don’t know any voice actors or actresses, if it sounds right to the character then I’m happy. Ohh more swords hah. I should also recommend you another anime: Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin. It doesn’t have swords but its based on students who go and look for treasure left by a girl who died. If that doesn’t tingle your taste buds then maybe No Game No Life, its based on two siblings who enter a world where they must compete only by playing games. Its a little like Sword Art Online/Log Horizon.

    • Beware of the flowery backgrounds okay!😄 It’s ironic how I blogged about Fairy Tail being the only anime I planned to watch this season, yet I’m suddenly blogging about a new anime every week. Haha. Anyway, thanks for your comment and your recommendations. I’ve read a few reviews for them. They seem nice, but I’ve really gotten my hands full with what I’m watching.🙂

Leave a Reply

