Otaku Daydreams

Your stop for anime reviews and more!

Hamatora episode 4

2 Comments

<The Wandering Totem Pole>

Episode 4 shows signs of Hamatora’s improvement. One thing I couldn’t stand about Hamatora in the first three episodes was the weakly presented humour. If you’ve read some of my other reviews, you should be able to tell that my favourite genre is comedy. I know that Hamatora isn’t focused on comedy. It’s more of a psychological and mystery anime like Durarara. I’m fine with an anime without humour. Durarara managed to get me intrigued throughout the series without needing much. My previous issue with Hamatora was how the humour was somewhat forced. For instance, Nice asking the bomber why he doesn’t just use grenades instead in episode 2. When I saw that I thought, “Are you kidding me, Nice? That wasn’t needed at all. In fact, it just made you look stupid.”

hamatora 4-1

At the start of episode 4, I thought that the advertisement was kind of lame. It felt like another of Hamatora’s weak attempts at humour. However, it wasn’t so bad when I saw Murasaki’s expressions during the advertisement and his reaction which watching it. The advertisement was meant to be that way and Murasaki’s response is amusing.

hamatora 4-2

I was quite puzzled during the scene when Ratio was talking to the old lady. It seemed pointless at the time. Later, when Honey’s partner was trying to get Honey back, I realised the purpose of introducing the old lady. Badass driving from an old lady against a bunch of gun smugglers! Not bad, Obaa-san! That’s when I decided, “Hey, there’s hope for Hamatora’s humour!” It’s like finally, finally, there’s something funny about Hamatora.

Episode 4 is interesting, with the addition of Honey and her partner and their Minimum powers. The beast guy looks like he came out of a Marvel comic but Honey’s ability to see ten minutes into the future using her ‘Mighty’ is cool. The case about the teens with guns being caused by a video is very interesting. How did Moral think of the mosquito thing? That’s smart. It’s pretty eerie how he gave his coat to a boy outside the exam centre though. I knew something was off about that. Yes, Moral did help the boy that way, but seeing the blood stain at the back, the boy would be in deep trouble. Anyone who saw that would be shocked and probably suspicious that the boy was involved in murder or other crimes. The poor boy didn’t know the danger of the seemingly kind gesture. Would we be seeing the same boy again in future episodes? What’s going to happen to him?

One thing I like about Hamatora is how two cases that appear unrelated are usually connected in some way. Also, there hasn’t been any distracting flashing texts lately so it’s good. Hopefully the future episodes of Hamatora will bring about more interesting cases.

Watch Hamatora episode 4 at http://www.animeultima.tv/Hamatora-The-Animation-episode-4-english-subbed/

Author: Gwenice Gwee

www.thechaserofdreams.wordpress.com Chaser of dreams, epitome of oxymorons

2 thoughts on “Hamatora episode 4

  1. Hamatora so far has been decent. Not great, not terrible, but decent. I like to call it “Darker than Technicolor,” given its similarities to the FANTASTIC Darker Than Black, but its lighter and softer (and brightly-colored!) presentation.

    The series seems to get better the more we see of Moral(I HATE THAT GUY!). A truly great story requires a truly great antagonist, doesn’t it?

    • I agree that Hamatora is not great but not terrible. I’ve heard about its similarities with Darker than Black though I haven’t watched that yet. Whether or not we hate Moral, he is the one who makes the story interesting. “A truly great story requires a truly great antagonist.” Agreed!

Leave a Reply

